I Was Never A Football Player

I was never a football player growing up, but I always wanted to be.  I played in grade school and junior high, but I wouldn’t necessarily say I was “coached.”   Not playing in high school was a blessing, as I had the opportunity to be involved in a variety of other activities, however I also missed out on something that I absolutely love, which is one of the few regrets I have looking back at my high school years.

That all being said, when I moved to Columbus I had the fleeting thought of playing semi-pro ball, more to meet people and experience the game again, but between scheduling and being out of season, I gave up on the idea for the time being.  A few weeks ago, one of the regulars at the shop and I talked about the idea, and mentioned he played for a team.  I checked it out and ended up trying out.  Being that it’s been a solid 12 years since I put pads on, as well as the fact that I have never been truly taught the finer techniques and skills of the game, I was apprehensive and feared I would make a fool of myself.  Part of me wanted to prove that I still had the abilities, despite the lack of experience.  The tryout wasn’t extremely difficult – I was in equal or better shape than a majority of the other players, but I noticed a defined experience level that I was lacking.  That being said, I was still able to hold my own, and managed to snag an interception during live drills.

Yes, semi-pro is far different from the days of high school, but at least the tryout gave me confidence and the knowledge that I could hang with the big boys who have played the game throughout their youth.  I decided against playing, mostly due to scheduling issues, which still haunt me, but also the knowledge that I’d be booked every day I had off for the next three months.. which means no playing in the woods, and that’s what I love most, even more than scoring touchdowns.

One thought on “I Was Never A Football Player

  1. Sometimes, we have to do something to see that we really didn’t need to do it, we just had to prove we could do it.

    At any rate, congrats on being good enough, but smart enough to know it’s not what you need right now :-)

Leave a Reply

