My Rant About Star Wars

I’m a nerd.  I know this about myself.  Granted, I’m not a hardcore nerd (at least to the extent where I hang out 24/7 at the local comic shop and discuss the latest episode of Battlestar Galactica – Is that show still on?) However, I do have my favorites when it comes to the nerdy scifi genre.  Growing up, we had a Sony Betamax VCR (well before the days of DVD) and a regular VHS as well, but the Betamax had a copy of Star Wars we taped off HBO.  Whenever I was sick, I would watch Star Wars in bed.  Although not born in the late 70s, this tradition defined my youth (at least when referencing being sick).  Needless to say, I was a fan.  Not necessarily a hardcore fan who sat around and discussed the merits of making the Kessel run in 12 parsecs (because let’s face it, I don’t even know what that is).

When Lucas rereleased the original three in theaters, I jumped at the opportunity to experience the Trilogy on the big screen.  It was legend…wait for it…dary!  (Yes I know, that was way overdramatic, but come on… it’s Star Wars) I saw all three movies, and as expected, they were awesome. You could see the additional footage that was added was obvious, however I wouldn’t say it took away from the movies themselves.

Flash forward a few years.  Lucas creates the new three movies, and all hell breaks loose.  I mean seriously, what the hell was he thinking.  Being computer generated took so much away from the realism of the first three.  Don’t get me started about the horrible character that was JarJar Binks, or the ridiculousness that was Anakin Skylwalker in his pubescent years.  Whatever, I’m getting too into this and need to stop ranting.  It’s not like I’m into blogging about how Lucas destroyed the picturesque world he created for nerds and geeks….

One thought on “My Rant About Star Wars

  1. I totally agree with you!!!!

    The Original three were landmark films. Everyone knows who Han Solo is, even if they haven’t seen the movie (yeah, what rock are they under?) and were absolutely incredible.

    The “new” movies? Complete crap. No story, horrid actors, and TOO much CGI.

    Here’s some trivia for you: R.O.T.S. contained the most special effect shots and cost the most to make, and was the only on of the Star Wars Films not to receive any nods from the Oscars for effects.

Leave a Reply

