Lansing, MI

Currently, I’m writing from Michigan.  My boss and I travel north to Lansing for a trade show twice a year.  Those who know me personally know my obvious disdain for this city, so needless to say I’m not thrilled to be here.  However, I force myself to overlook my exact whereabouts and concentrate on the reason which brings me to the Lansing Convention Center.  One of the few perks of my job is I get to see new lines of clothing, footwear, and equipment at least one year out before the average consumer.  This small benefit allows me to plan what the shop will carry the following  year  (as well as plan my own buying for personal use).  I spent all day today looking at line after line of clothing, and saw several hundred pairs of shoes that all began to blur together.  I never knew that one company could produce 25 different types of sandals, but apparently that is not an uncommon practice.  In any case, after seeing two lines and 15 different types of waterproof jackets, my mind began to wander and I realized how much I hurt and moreover, how much I hate this city, yet how unavoidable it is for me to be here.  Unfortunately, I’ve come to the realization that there are some things in life you just can’t avoid, and you just have to accept that they are the way they are.  At that point it’s just a matter of picking your head up, getting yourself off the ground and keep moving on.  And maybe, if you’re lucky, you’ll have picked one of better sandals from the 25 and it won’t be so bad under your feet.

Leave a Reply

