Sunday Evening Paddle

I got out of work late tonight and missed a dinner with M.P. in New Albany. It was probably a good thing because I need to save money for the upcoming weeks and moreover I’m sure going out to eat wouldn’t benefit my newfound diet. Yes that’s right, I said diet.

I’m not overweight or anything, but I know it’s obvious I’m not in the same shape I was in high school. So I thought I’d take up running again and start watching what I eat. I ran three times last week and started keeping track of my caloric intake, thanks to some handy iPhone app. I know, it’s a bit extreme – but I don’t have the discipline to do it on my own. This isn’t the first round in the weight-loss prize fight. I did the same thing except swap running for rock climbing in the fall. It worked reasonably well and I dropped about 7lbs. This time I’d like to drop 12 or so, as well as gain my running endurance.

Anyway, I made a pizza for dinner and indulged a little too much, blowing my caloric goal for the day. So I decided I’d make up for the extra calorie gain by doing some late-evening kayaking. The water was reasonably warm and the humidity was down, which made for a nice paddle. The boat I had on hand though, was far from comfortable. It had no padded seat and by the time I finished 45 minutes later, my back was exhausted. All in all, it was a nice way to spend a Sunday evening.

3 thoughts on “Sunday Evening Paddle

  1. I wish I could lose some weight, but “The Summer of Self Indulgence” is still in full swing. Good on you for doing what you need to do, however. I wish I was motivate.

Leave a Reply

