Extreme Home Makeover: Mama Fish Edition

Next weekend is Mama Fish’s 60th birthday.  My sister and I debated on what to do, and finally settled on asking her 5 brothers and sisters into joining us remodel part of Mama Fish’s condo.  She’s lived here for seven years and has always wanted to redo the bathroom and laundry room.  Between the 10 of us (mama fish, 3 aunts, 3 uncles, a brother-in-law, my sister, and I), we managed to strip the bathroom of wallpaper, spackle, and prime the walls, remove the washer and dryer, paint the laundry room, return washer and dryer, stain her back deck (first coat only), remove to huge bushes, extend a flower bed, plant a host of flower bulbs, repair a floor board in her sun room, repair the hand rail in her shower, and down a handful of beers today.  I’m not terribly close with my family, but it’s amazing what can be done when people who care about one another come together.

There’s still much work to be done tomorrow.  Putting on a second coat of stain on the deck, painting the bathroom, returning the various bathroom fixtures back to their original place, cleaning out the garage, putting the patio furniture away for the winter, taking the bushes we hacked to the dump, putting a toilet back together, cleaning the carpet, and just general clean-up.  It’s a lot to tackle in one day, especially since our help drops down to just my sis, mama fish , & I, but I think we’re up to the challenge.  I plan on feeling sore on Monday.

2 thoughts on “Extreme Home Makeover: Mama Fish Edition

Leave a Reply

